Skip to main content
You are the owner of this article.
You have permission to edit this article.

ASUW Senate holds elections for 2022-23 leadership


Over the past four weeks, the ASUW Senate has conducted its internal elections for the 2022-23 legislative leadership. 

As previously reported, Anastasia Vargas and Mario Falit-Baiamonte were elected to the top senate positions of speaker and vice speaker. Nat Cabrera has since withdrawn from the position of membership coordinator due to conflicting engagements. Zoe Zimmer was elected to replace Cabrera in the position.

Vargas drew on previous experience as an intern for the Student Disability Commission (SDC) when asked about the continuation of a hybrid model for senate meetings next year during the election process. 

“As [an] SDC intern, I’ve seen how crucial these options are,” Vargas said. “[We are a] large community that needs these options to participate in senate safely.”

Vargas also spoke about her commitment to being an advocate for senate legislation once it passes out of the senate. This is a role designated for the senate vice speaker, as per the ASUW Senate bylaws.

“I’m used to hounding people,” Vargas said. “It’s what I’m going to do — be a nuisance, but also communicate. [I will] follow up back to senate; it’s important to have active communication about past bills.”

Falit-Baiamonte highlighted the importance of making the senate feel accessible to all. The senate uses Robert’s Rules of Order to facilitate meetings. The senate passed a resolution this quarter to update the language of the ASUW Senate bylaws for the first time in two years in an effort to make it more student-friendly. 

Most Popular Stories

“Robert’s Rules serves as a barrier,” Falit-Baiamonte said. “Parliamentary procedure is hard to understand. We need a voice for students both on and off the senate.”

In addition, the six senate committee chair positions were filled. The Academic and Administrative Affairs, On-Campus, Off-Campus, General Affairs, Oversight, and Resolution Follow-Up Committees will be chaired by Connor Timney, Amanda Pitts, Sephora-Clotilde Zoro, Tia Vontver, Francisco Dojenia, and Rohini Kilaru, respectively. 

Time constraints meant that the final liaison positions will be filled next week, running into a fifth senate meeting. 

The ASUW Senate meets in Smith 120 and via Zoom on Tuesdays from 5 to 7 p.m. The meeting link can be found on the senate website. Next week marks the body’s final meeting of the 2021-22 school year. 

Reach reporter Luke Amrine at Twitter: @amrine_luke

Like what you’re reading? Support high-quality student journalism by donating here.


More Like This

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.

Get up-to-the-minute news sent straight to your device.


Breaking News

Top News Articles

Top Arts Articles

Top Opinion Articles

Top Sports Articles